top of page

My Immigration Interview Experience


It has been a half month since my last blog.

A lot happened recently:

- I got my sketch published on Archdaily;

- I got my Immigration petition approved;

- I took a pole competition in Stamford, but still I didn't win...

- I modeled for my friend's photography studio

Today I am going to recap my experience of my AOS interview ( for my immigration petition).

 

My interview was scheduled on August 17th, 2016 in Federal Plaza, New York, NY.

Before I went there I heard a lot of rumors on the USCIS office, saying they are extremely slow.

Well....

Our scheduled interview was 8.50AM but we didn't got to see the interview officer until 11AM.

I came over to the front desk and asked them, they replied " your interview officer has some delay so you are behind the schedule. "

And eventually we got to see the interview officer. He introduced himself nicely and slowly and led us to his office.

It felt like walking in a maze as he turned and turned and turned before finally getting into his room.

When we sit down, I started to take a close look at him. He has a tanned skin, short hair, a bit overweight, sloppy eyes, shirt and tie.

He moves extremely slowly.

And...I immediately thought of...

He then opened my passport, checked it page by page, with a speed of 5 sec/page. And I guess my passport has about 30 pages? So I watched him checking my passport in very slow motion long before he finished reading them.

And he asked some questions very slowly, and he ticked something on my forms very slowly and slowly flipped to the next page and kept asking more questions very slowly.

Then he asked for my work visa documents before he slowly stepped out to make a photo copy.

Lastly, he asked some more questions about my background very slowly before giving us a signed letter, saying " interview is completed".

He said slowly" wait for two weeks for the final decision".

And I waited for two months.

The forum said " it is a normal speed".

At least I still appreciated that they eventually approved my petition even it was slow.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page